CML Compliant Professional Consultants Certificates and Warranties for New and Converted Properties

0845 680 0467 Local Call

“So What is a Professional Consultants Certificate (PCC)?”


What was once generally known as an Architect’s Certificate for newly built or converted property is now known as the Council of Mortgage Lenders (CML) Professional Consultants Certificate (PCC).


Lenders will generally only lend on a newly built (or newly converted) property where the property is covered by a warranty scheme (for example, NHBC warranty, Premier guarantee) or the CML Professional Consultant Certificate.
The CML Professional Consultant Certificate can only be signed by a consultant with one or more of the qualifications listed in section 6.6.4 of the Lenders’ Handbook, for example, Fellow or Associate of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS). By signing the certificate the consultant confirms that he has designed and/or monitored the construction of the property and that he will remain liable to the owner and any lenders for a minimum of six years.
You’ll need this type of certificate if:

  • You’re selling the property and your purchaser needs a mortgage
  • You want to rent the property and raise a Buy-to-Let mortgage to release equity

Click here for a link to a list of banks and building societies that currently accept our certificate.

Click on the links below for an example of a standard format certificate provided by the Council of Mortgage Lenders for your area.

England         Scotland         Wales      NIreland




Established 1989. Our surveyors hold at least one of the following qualifications:


Architect's Certificate